7 Mukono DP Members Charged With Assault

1600 Views Mukono, Uganda

In short
Seven Mukono DP Members Charged with Assault and Vandalizing Police Van.

7 members of the Democratic Party have today appeared before Charles Kadisi Mukono Grade II magistrate for assault and vandalizing a police vehicle in the recently concluded elections.

Erisa Nkoyoyo, Goma Sub county LC 3 chairmen elect, Robinah Namakula Goma division councilor and Lukuman Sseggayi. They are accused of assaulting Godfrey Gwayambadde, the NRM mobilizer.

It is alleged that the suspects assaulted Gwayambadde on March 15 at Kilowoza village in Seeta Mukono municipality.

Four other DP members including Vivian Mulindwa Kagoya, Ntejeru sub county LC 3 chairpersons, Steven Sikyomu, Henry Kayira and Ezra Kizito were charged with assault and vandalizing a police vehicle.

Prosecution told court that the suspects committed the offence on March 07, at Ntenjeru police post on March 07, 2011. The accused pleaded not guilty to the charges and applied for bail which was granted by Kadisi.

He released each of the suspects on a none cash bond of shillings 500,000. Betty

Betty Bakirke Nambooze, Mukono Municipality MP, Daniel Lugolobo, Suleiman Nkonge Abubaker Katerega and Charles Katamba stood sureties for the suspects.

Hearing of the case will resume on May 05, 2011.


Tagged with: police