Gabriel Ajedra Wins Arua NRM Chairman Position

3040 Views Arua, Uganda

In short
Engineer Aridru was declared winner with 184 votes beating the second person Jackson Atima who got 105 votes.

Engineer Gabriel Ajedra Aridru has been declared the Arua district National Resistance Movement (NRM) chairman.
This was during the second day of NRM structures elections held at Golf Club in Arua municipality.
Aridru was declared winner with 184 votes, ahead of Jackson Atima who got 105 votes.
Other candidates included Martin Drito (40 votes) and Simon Ejua with 09 votes. There were two invalid votes.
Cue in: "Am very excited"
Cue out… "Support of people"
Meanwhile Joyce Amaguru was elected the vice chairperson with 164 votes ahead of Akelo Badaru with 85 votes.
Dema Levi Yiki was elected the Secretary General for NRM Arua district with 225 votes, Patrick Alioni was elected the Publicity Secretary with 190 votes and Ronald Afidra was elected the finance chairperson with 219 votes.
The results were declared by Obeti Philip Dema, the district registrar Arua. He says the elections of Friday were peaceful without any irregularities unlike Thursday's which had to be canceled.
Martin Drito, who competed and lost, says he will proceed to petition NRM secretariat over the result. Drito says he is not satisfied with the election result claiming Engineer Aridru ferried and bribed voters.