FDC Wants Results of Female Youth MP Elections Cancelled

2899 Views Jinja, Uganda

In short
The Forum for Democratic Change to sue the Electoral Commission over the failed announcement of the party's candidate for the Female Youth MP elections.

The Forum for Democratic Change is going to court to challenge the outcome of Sunday’s Female Youth MP elections. Abubaker Maganda, the Jinja FDC chairman, says the vote held at the YMCA conference hall in Jinja town was fraught with irregularities. He says there was a deliberate move to prevent the FDC candidate, Sarah Nakalemba Kisakye, from participating in the polls. Sarah Nakalemba claims that the Electoral Commission moved the deadline for nominations from 4 p.m. to 2 p.m. without consulting her. She says she was busy campaigning for support and was shocked when she arrived at the YMCA conference hall to find nominations over. Nakalemba rushed to her party headquarters to appeal for their help, but the elections proceeded as planned. Flavia Mujulizi, the Jinja returning officer who presided over the elections, says there was no ill intent in the decision to move the nomination deadline by two hours. She claims that the Electoral Commission wanted to ensure that all voting activities took place during the day. However the FDC officials insist that this was unfair treatment and they want the election results cancelled and a fresh vote organized. The Female Youth MP elections were won by Monica Amoding of the National Resistance Movement. In her maiden speech she promised to work selflessly to promote the interests and demands of the youth. The NRM also swept the elections for the new National Youth Council. Samuel Kavuma was elected chairman of the cancel and his NRM-leaning compatriot, Richard Okello, was elected deputy. Fred Onyango is the new Youth Council general secretary, Davis Akampulire is the secretary for external relations and David Kabanda is the secretary for publicity. Other elected officials are Patience Kente, Edwin Agaba, Victoria Nakacwa, Yakub Kabuye, Masitulah Namatovu and Ibrahim Kitata. ###