Four Sub Counties Annexed to Lira Municipality

4478 Views Lira, Uganda

In short
Once approved, the population of the current Lira municipality which is 100,000 shall be increased to about 500,000.

Lira District Council has annexed four Sub Counties to Lira Municipality.

They are Adekokwok, Ngetta, Iwal and Lira.

The four Sub Counties whose boundaries from Lira town are just within the distance of 5km shall now become part of the proposed Lira City.

Alex Oremo Alot, the Lira LCV Chairperson said the council also approved the proposal of creating two city Divisions including Lira West and East.

Lira West Division shall have a total of eight wards including Adyel, Ojwina A, Barapwo, Amuca, Lira, Adyel A, Adyel B, Adyel C while Lira East shall have also eight wards including Central, Railways, Adekokwok, Ngetta, Iwal, Ireda and Bazaar.

He said the proposal is yet to be submitted to the Ministry of Local Government for further approval.

//Cue in: "This City will ….
Cue out: …for your consumption,"//.
According to Oremo, the district council considered the economic activities and viability of revenue generation of the new administrative units.

//Cue in: "One other factor …
Cue out: …Western Economic end,"//

Once approved, the population of the current Lira municipality which is 100,000 shall be increased to about 500,000.

Denis Awon, the LCIII Chairperson of Lira Sub County says that being part of the proposed Lira City shall enhance service delivery including expansion of infrastructural development.

//Cue in: "The City definitely …
Cue out: ….
Mike Alengo, the Adekokwok Sub County LCIII Chairperson welcomed the decision saying it has been long overdue.

Alengo said about a half of his population operates businesses in Lira Municipality.

Hajji Isa Mugumye, the Commissioner in- charge Urban Development at the Local Government Ministry said they are yet to receive the approved council resolution by the Lira district council.

Mugumye said they are currently conducting on spot assessment in the proposed nine regional cities to ensure they meet the requirements.
//Cue in: "Also our assessment ….
Cue out: …. biggest number of councillors,"//.

Patrick Ogweng, the Lira Municipality Deputy Town Clerk said they have also done all the due procedures required by the local government ministry.

Lira municipality is among the nine municipalities set to be upgraded to city status include Mbarara, Gulu, Arua, Fort Portal Mbale, Hoima, Lira, Jinja and Entebbe.



About the author

Ronald Odongo
Ronald Odongo is the URN Bureau Chief Lira, Northern Uganda.A multimedia Journalist, Media trainer and investigative enthusiast. Lira,Apac,Dokolo,Oyam, Kwania, Otuke, Amolatar,and Alebtong districts fall under his docket. Odongo has been a URN staff member since 2012 though he had been a contributor since 2006.

Odongo started out as a bicycle reporter for Radio Unity in 2004. He was Radio Rhino FM's senior reporter, Luo news anchor and station producer between 2006 and 2011. Odongo started out as a freelance writer for Uganda Radio Network in 2006.

Odongo is particularly interested in reporting on community health, and education concerns. Good governance and human rights beats are dear to Odongo as a former Lord’s Resistance Army rebels captive 1996-1998.