Janet Museveni Opposes Ntungamo Split

2191 Views Kampala, Uganda

In short
Ntungamo district National Resistance Movement NRM leaders have been told the district will not be divided into three districts.

Ntungamo district National Resistance Movement (NRM) leaders have been told the district will not be split into three districts.
The district council in July last year passed a resolution demanding that the district should be divided into two more districts. This would mean that each of the three counties making up the district--Ruhaama, Rushenyi and Kajara, could become an independent district.
The First Lady Janet Museveni who is the district NRM chairperson told Ntungamo party leaders during a meeting at Rwakitura on Thursday that President Museveni will not allow creation of more districts.

An NRM leader who was in the meeting told Uganda Radio Network that they made pleas for the split of the district but the first lady said it will not happen.
However, the first lady reported told district leaders that government will be giving larger districts like Ntungamo more resources than small districts.

"We have been promised that for example, we will receive more money for road maintenance than other districts and for sectors such as health and education," said the source that asked for anonymity.
The budget framework for financial year 2018/19 called for halting of creation of new administrative units.

"There will be no creation of new agencies and administrative units, including public universities. Freezing the creation of new units is necessary for government to create fiscal space to accommodate implementation of a comprehensive pay reform for all categories of government employees, starting in FY 2018/19," the budget framework paper released last month says.
Janet Museveni  tasked Deputy Attorney General and Rushenyi MP Mwesigwa Rukutana and Ntungamo Woman MP Beatrice Rwakimari to follow up the issue of splitting Ruhaama County into two counties.

Ruhaama County is made of seven sub counties which include ; Rweikiniro, Rukoni, Ruhaama, Ruhaama East, Itojo, Kajunjo-Mirama Town Council and Kitwe Town Council.

Janet Museveni was Ruhaama MP between 2006 and 2016. She was succeeded by Beijukye William Zinkuratire who died in November last year. A by election to elect Zinkuratire's successor will take place on Thursday next week.


About the author

Blanshe Musinguzi
Musinguzi Blanshe is a politics-cum-business journalist. He joined Uganda Radio Network in February 2017. Previously, he worked at Daily Monitor and Red Pepper Publications Limited. He is keenly interested in data journalism.