JEEMA To Field Presidential Candidate for 2016 Elections

2898 Views Kampala, Uganda

In short
NEC approved the establishment of a fully-fledged JEEMA Policy Centre at the JEEMA secretariat, with a full time Executive Director to be responsible for Policy Research, Publication and Manifesto development.

Kampala, 18 March 2015
The Justice Forum (JEEMA) National Executive Committee (NEC) met in Kampala at the Party Headquarters, Mengo, on Monday March 16, 2015. 

The following were the outcomes:

1.     NEC approved the extension of JEEMA's participation in the Campaign for Free and  Fair Elections

2.    NEC approved the extension of and hailed the JEEMA partnership with Netherlands Institute for Multiparty Democracy, NIMD and JEEMA membership in IPOD, the Interparty Organisation for Dialogue.

3.    NEC approved the extension of JEEMA partnership with International Republican Institute, IRI and appreciated cooperation.

4.    NEC approved the JEEMA Party Development Plan 2015.

5.    NEC approved the JEEMA Policy Development Plan 2015.

6.    NEC recommended to the NDC, alternative Policy Positions on Youth and Employment; Defence and National Security; Women and Health; Oil and Gas; Proportional Representation; and human Rights.

7.    NEC appreciated the financial support from the Democratic governance Facility DGF for the under the Political Parties Capacity Strengthening Facility (PPCSF) February 2015- September 30 2015).

8.    NEC appreciated Partnership with and support of Women Democracy Network, WDN, to the JEEMA women's League.

9.    NEC approved the extension of JEEMA youth League's membership of the Inter- Party Youth Platform, IYOP.

10.  NEC appreciated the partnership and support of Christian International Democratic Centre of Sweden KIC o the JEEMA Youth League.

11.   National Delegates Conference will be held in the last week of June 2015
12.  The Youth League Delegates' Conference and the Women's League Delegates' Conferences will be held in the same week (last week of June 2015)

13.  The budgets of all the above delegates' conferences were approved.

14.  NEC recommended to the National Delegates Conference that two special organs be established a) Senior Members' League and b)Entrepreneur/Professional League.

15.  NEC recommended the immediate operationalization of Chapter 14 of the JEEMA Constitution establishing a Board of Trustees of the Justice Forum. The Board of Trustees shall be made up of seven persons nominated and approved by the National Delegates Conference.

16.  NEC approved the establishment of a fully-fledged JEEMA Policy Centre at the JEEMA secretariat, with a full time Executive Director to be responsible for Policy Research, Publication and Manifesto development

17.  The JEEMA electoral commission was given 60 days (till May 16 2015) to file returns of duly elected officials (delegates) from regions and districts as a pre-requisite for the holding of the National Delegates Conference.

18.  NEC established a complaints desk at JEEMA secretariat to record and follow up on cases of politically motivated arrests of JEEMA officials, members, supporters, especially Muslims and those hailing from the now much targeted Busoga region. NEC took exception to the continued harassment of JEEMA adherents by security operatives undertaken in the guise of fighting insecurity.

19.  NEC recommended to NDC to explore the possibility for cooperation with other parties in the 2016 elections, and to appoint a negotiating team which will be charged with protecting JEEMA's short term and strategic interests.

20. NEC agreed that JEEMA will field a Presidential Candidate in the 2016 elections if a coalition is not agreed. In the event that a coalition is agreed, the JEEMA nominated flag bearer will compete in the Inter-party primaries with other presidential flag bearers from the cooperating partners.

21.  NEC received a provisional list of JEEMA candidates (pending internal party primaries where applicable) Internal nominations are open till May 30, 2015:
o   Busia Municipality
o   Tororo Municipality
o   Aringa County
o   Yumbe Woman
o   Mukono Woman
o   Mukono North
o   Rubaga South
o   Makindye West
o   Bukooli North
o   Fort Portal Municipality
o   Bukomansimbi District LCV Chairperson
o   Kampala (Lord) Mayor
o   Kyadondo North
o   Kawempe South
o   Mutundwe LC III Councilor
o   Makindye West LC V Councilor
o   Kyadondo North
o   Nansana Mayor
o   Arua Municipality Oli Division Councilor
o   Lira Municipality LCIII Chairperson
o   Mityana District Woman
o   Nakifuma County
o   Busiro North
o   Busiro South
o   Butambala District LCV Chairperson
o   Masaka Municipality
o   Lira District LCV Chairperson
o   Gulu Municipality
o   Kampala /Central
o   Butambala County
o   Makindye East
o   Mbarara Municipality
o   Nsangi LC III
o   Kira Town Council Mayor
o   Kiboga District LCV
o   Mityana South
o   Arua Municipality
o   Kassanda North
o   Kampala Woman
o   Gomba (Constituency)
o   Mayor Bugiri Town Council
o   Mayor Lukaya town Council
o   Hoima Municipality
o   LCIII Chairperson Nyendo Senyange Division, Masaka
o   Igara County East
o   Mityana District LCV Chairperson
o   Sembabule District LCV Chairperson
o   Mukono District Chairperson
o   Kaberamaido District Chairperson
o   Nakasongola Woman
o   Kasese Municipality
o   Nakapiriprit District Chairperson