Kadaga, Oulanyah Get Press Secretaries


In short
Parliament has appointed two Principle Press Secretaries for the Speaker of Parliament and her Deputy.

Parliament has appointed two press secretaries for the Speaker and her deputy.

They include Sam Obbo, who will be in-charge of Kadaga's communication and Brenda Atim, for the Deputy Speaker Jacob Oulanyah.

The two will work under the Directorate of Communications and Public Affairs headed by Chris Obore. Their appointment means Obore will speak for the institution of Parliament while the two will handle the communications and affairs of the two speakers.

David Kamali, Kadaga's personal assistant says that Obbo and Atim were recruited by the Parliamentary Commission and are staff of Parliament.

 "Obbo is a staff of Parliament, but he will be in charge of the Kadaga's communication," Kamali said.

Parliament has been struggling to handle the communications of the Kadaga and Oulanyah.

Oulanyah recently opened up his own website oulanyah.com where he would publicise his projects and events among others. 

Sam Obbo previously worked as an Editor at Daily monitor, while Brenda Atim is a recent journalism graduate.  


About the author

Alex Otto
“Journalism that changes lives is my goal,” Alex Otto has said on more than one occasion. That is his career’s guiding principle. Has been since he was a radio journalist in the northern Ugandan town of Gulu in 2009.

Otto passionately believes his journalism should bring to the fore the voices of the voiceless like the shooting victims of Apaa. Otto tries in his journalism to ask tough questions to those in positions of authority.

Based in the Kampala bureau, Otto is especially interested in covering agriculture, politics, education, human rights, crime, environment and business. He has reported intensively on the post-conflict situation in northern Uganda.

A URN staff member since 2014, Otto previously worked with The Observer Newspaper from 2012 to 2013 and later the Institute for War and Peace Reporting IWPR based in Gulu.

He was the URN Gulu bureau chief 2014-2016.