NRM Names Members to Appointments Committee

3591 Views Kampala, Uganda

In short
Government chief Whip, Ruth Nankabirwa confirmed to URN in a telephone interview that 20 names were approved by CEC saying that the NRM being the majority party in parliament forms 69 of the appointments committee.

The Central Executive Committee-CEC of the ruling National Resistance Movement-NRM party has approved the names of the 20 legislators to seat on the appointments committee of parliament. In the past the party whips would decide who sits on the appointment committee.
The names were discussed and approved by CEC chaired by President, Yoweri Museveni who also doubles as NRM party chairperson at state house Entebbe on Wednesday. The appointees include David Bahati, Hillary Onek, Arinaitwe Rwakajara, Robinah Nabbanja, Moses Balyeku, Hellen Adoa, Robinah Rwakoojo, Joyce Moriku, and Mario Obiga Kania.
Others are Hellen Asamo, Henry Makumbi, Connie Nakayenze, Janet Okori-moe, Beatrice Rwakimari, Oscar Omony Otema, Yeri Ofwono, Rukia Chekamondo, Lillian Nakatte, Ashraf Olega, and Jackson Kafuuzi. The Government chief Whip, Ruth Nankabirwa said NRM being the majority party in parliament, forms 69% of the appointments committee. 

According to Nankabirwa, the 20 names were selected from the 40 that were submitted for consideration. The opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) will have 2 members, Democratic Party 1 member, Uganda People's Defence Forces (UPDF) 1 member and independents 5. Museveni is expected to send the names to the speaker of parliament.

According to sources, some of the factors that informed the appointments included party loyalty, experience in parliament, the youth factor and regional and gender balance. The Appointments Committee is mandated to vet those designated for ministerial positions and any other appointment requiring the approval of parliament. 

The Chairperson of the Appointments Committee, who is the speaker of parliament, communicates to the house the decision of the committee..