NRM Petitions EC To Nullify Candidature of Lt Richard Oseku

2360 Views Pallisa, Uganda

In short
Public servants seeking to contest any political office are required to resign their seat before they are nominated.

The National Resistance Movement-NRM has petitioned the Electoral Commission demanding for the nullification of Lieutenant Richard Oseku, an independent candidate in the Butebo MP by-election. Professor Elijah Musehemza, the NRM electoral commission vice chairperson says they handed over their petition to the Electoral Commission on Monday. Prof. Mushemeza says they want the Electoral Commission to nullify the candidature of Lt. Oseku because he didn't resign from the army before he sought nomination.

Public servants seeking to contest any political office are required to resign their seat before they are nominated. Lt. Oseku worked as Regional Internal Security Officer - RISO in Karamoja and Masaka respectively before he was transferred to the Internal Security Office - ISO headquarters in Kampala where he claims to have resigned to join the Butebo parliamentary race. But Professor Elijah claims Lt. Oseku never resigned from the army before joining politics.

//Cue in: “Just give us…
Cue out: …will update you.”//

Lt. Oseku participated in the NRM primary election but lost to Dr. Patrick Mutono Ludoi. He however went ahead and got nominated as an independent candidate citing fraudulent polls. He accused party electoral commission officials of biases. Lt. Oseku however insists that he resigned from the army and challenged the party to go ahead with the petition saying he is not bothered. Charles Rwebero, the Pallisa District Electoral Commission Registrar says his office has not yet received the petition.

Paul Bukenya, the electoral Commission Deputy Public Relations Officer says he will verify the information from the Legal Department before giving his comment on the matter. Attempts by URN to get a comment from the leadership of the army were futile as Lt Col. Paddy Ankunda; the UPDF spokesperson said he was locked up in a meeting. Seven candidates are contesting the Butebo parliamentary seat that fell vacant on April 11th after the death of Dr. Stephen Malinga, the former Minister for Relief and Disaster Preparedness.

They include FDC’s, Samuel Khalwa, DPs’ Zaidi Ziwa and NRM’s Dr. Patrick Mutono. Others are Elisabeth Aisu, Kachio Eria,Richard Oseku, and Sajjabi Yothia, all independents. The Butebo by election is scheduled for June 6th.


About the author

Denis Olaka
Denis Olaka is the URN bureau chief for Lira, in northern Uganda. Apac and Otuke fall under his docket. Olaka has been a URN staff member since 2011.

Olaka started his journalism career in 2000 as a news reporter, anchor, and then editor for Radio Lira in Lira district. He was subsequently an editor with Lira's Radio Wa in 2004 and Gulu district's Mega FM.

He was also a freelance writer for the Daily Monitor and Red Pepper newspapers.

Olaka's journalism focuses on politics, health, agriculture and education. He does a lot of crime reporting too.