Pictorial: Day One of Swearing in MPs of the Tenth Parliament

10226 Views Kampala, Uganda


The swearing in of the 427 MPs for the 10th Parliament kicked off today.
The Clerk to Parliament, Jane Kibirige kicked off the event by making a proclamation to administer the oath of allegiance and oath of Member of Parliament for the 145 out of the 426 MPs to be sworn in on day one of the three-day exercise.
Several legislators were escorted by their relatives and traditional dancers to the podium to take oath. Some of the MPs who took oath include Kamuli Woman MP Rebecca Kadaga, Buikwe woman MP, Judith Babriye, General Moses Ali, East Moyo MP, Koboko Woman MP Evelyn Anite, Padyere MP, Joshua Anywarach, Soroti Municipality MP, Ariko Herbert, Dokolo Woman MP Cecilia Ogwal and others.
URN now brings you pictures from the swearing in ceremony on day one at parliament.


To license these photos, contact Douglas Mutumba, Client Relations Officer. Email: [email protected]; Office: +256 414 530777; Cell: +256 758 745021.


About the author

Olive Nakatudde
Olive Nakatudde is a URN journalist based in Kampala. Nakatudde has been a URN staff member since 2013.

Nakatudde started out in journalism in 2009 with Dembe FM radio in Kampala. In 2012, Nakatudde joined Voice of Africa as a political reporter. She has been a photographer since her journalism school days at Makerere University.

Nakatudde is interested in good governance and public policy, which she reports on intensively from the Uganda Parliament. She is a keen follower of cultural affairs in Buganda Kingdom and covers the kingdom's Lukiiko (parliament). Nakatudde also reports on education and health.