Mixed Reactions as Wafula Oguttu Loses in Bukhooli Central

1679 Views Bugiri, Uganda

In short
The FDC party member, who has been Leader of Opposition in the 9thparliament, lost to NRMs Solomon Silwanyi, by a margin of 6,351 votes.

The defeat of Phillip Wafula Oguttu in the Bikhooli central constituency in Bugiri district has drawn mixed reactions.
The FDC party member, who has been Leader of Opposition in the 9thparliament, lost to NRM's Solomon Silwanyi, by a margin of 6,351 votes.
According to Apollo Musinguzi, Busoga sub region Electoral Commission officer, Silwanyi garnered 28,496 votes, while Oguttu, got 22,165 votes from 183 polling stations. Bukhooli Central has 88,227 registered voters.
Justine Kasule Lumuba, NRM General Secretary said on phone the triumph in Bukhooli Central shows that the NRM party that also won all parliamentary positions in Bugiri district is becoming stronger, and remains relevant to the people.
She says if the leader of opposition can fail in his constituency, it means people have voted basing on the NRM‘s manifesto and the past success of the party in the district and the entire country.
FDC vice Chairperson for Eastern Uganda Proscovia Salamu Musumba, also failed to make it through for Kamuli Municipality seat, while Alice Alaso, long-serving MP for Serere lost her seat to Hellen Adoa, another NRM candidate.
Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga won overwhelmingly with 91,853 votes, the highest number of votes garnered by any parliamentarian in Busoga sub region.
But Meddy Mbentyo, an FDC leader in Jinja district says the NRM has failed in Busoga sub region and that is why three ministers Lukia Nakadama (State for Gender), Flavia Munaaba, (state for Environment) and Asuman Kiyingi, (State for Regional Affairs) lost their seats.
To Mbentyo, this is an indication that the NRM is not a pro - people party and its top leaders didn't matter to people on the ground.  
He calls on the new leaders in Busoga sub region to look at issues that affect the people who elected them to transform their livelihoods.
Engineer Badru Kiggundu, EC chairman today declared Museveni the winner, after garnering 5, 617,503 votes representing 60.75 percent of the total votes cast. He was followed by his rival, FDC presidential candidate, Kizza Besigye who managed 3,270, 290 votes, a total of 35.37 percent.
Amama Mbabazi was third with 132, 574 (1.43 percent), Abed Bwanika with 86, 075 (0.93 percent), Venansius Baryamureeba with 51, 086, Benon Biraro with 24, 675, Maureen Kyalya with 40, 598 and Joseph Mabirizi with 23, 762.